4 C's of a Diamond

4 C’s – Carat, Cut, Color and Clarity

Diamonds are Forever!

Diamonds do in fact last forever and choosing that right one will make all the difference. There are four important factors to know when choosing a certified loose diamond.


Consider the 4’cs of a diamond:
Carat, Cut, Color and Clarity.

A carat is a measure of the diamond’s weight and not its size. In order to choose the perfect carat weight for your diamond engagement ring you should consider this, the size of your bride’s finger and the jewelry setting. When you choose your diamond ring setting, keep in mind the center diamond. Not every diamond shape and size fit into different settings. If you have already selected a setting for your diamond, then make sure you check the diamond specifications of your ring. In addition a diamond that is 1 carat in weight looks differently on a size 5 finger than a size 8 so it important that you know your bride’s size.

http://www.robbinsbrothers.com - TacoriTacori-i111433.ringAbove Image courtesy:
RobbinsBrothers.com (Engagement-Rings: Tacori)


A diamond’s cut is the most important characteristic to consider.

The cut of a diamond is reflected through its beauty and brilliance. It determines the diamond’s sparkle. An ideal cut grade sparkles because the light will return out of the top of the diamond. While in a poorly cut diamond the light will leak out the bottom or the sides causing a loss of brilliance. The best recommendation is to select the highest cut grade since it is so important to a diamond’s appearance.Allurez.com


Preceding the cut of a diamond is the color. The value of a diamond is determined by how colorless they are. The less color a diamond has the higher its value will be. There is always an exception to the rule and that is fancy colored diamonds such as pink and black diamonds. A diamond color grading scale goes as follows, D, E-F, G-H, I-J, K, L, M, N-R, S-Z, D being the highest rating possible to Z being the lowest. Every letter grade has an explicit range of color appearance that corresponds to a diamond. Also good to know is that as the diamond size increases so does the color.

Lastly is the clarity of a diamond, meaning a diamond without blemishes and imperfections. In retrospect almost all diamonds have minor blemishes. Needless to say, the fewer imperfections diamonds have the higher the clarity.  In comparison to the cut of a diamond, the clarity is not as apparent. Nevertheless the clarity of a diamond is still measured. The GIA also known as the Gemological Institution of America developed a scale containing 11 grades. Flawless (FL), Initially Flawless (IF), Very Very Slightly Included (VVS1 & VVS2), Very Slightly Included (VS1 & VS2), Slightly included (SI1 & SI2), and Included (I1, I2, & I3). For the most part diamonds fall into the VS and SI categories.

With all the listed information, you should be able to choose that perfect diamond for your bride.

Images provided by Allurez Diamonds and Fine Jewelry
Visit WebsiteAllurez.com

Article contributions: Genesis Vasquez

Image contributions as noted: RobbinsBrothers.com



Leave a Reply